LeRoy NY 14482

A short history of LeRoy...

In 1812, as a result of settlers moving into the region, the New York State Legislature created the Town of Bellona, taken from the western section of Caledonia. In 1813, the State Legislature changed the name to LeRoy, after Herman LeRoy, a wealthy New York City merchant, land speculator, and owner of the Triangle Tract, a portion of which now contains the Town.

 

The Town of LeRoy includes about 42 square miles and contains accessible major routes 5, 19, interstate 490, and NYS Thruway 90 (as well as a small airport). The Town is also bisected by the beautiful Oatka Creek, a notable trout fishing resource. LeRoy is also famous for its limestone reserves where quarries have provided for the construction of the aforementioned Thruway and the Mt. Morris Dam on the Genesee River in Letchworth State Park.

LeRoy is rich in a variety of historical measures, perhaps none more so than as being the home of Jell-O, invented in 1897 (visitors from around the globe visit the Jell-O museum and LeRoy House museum). Today, LeRoy boasts a first class school district, active Business Council, and variety of community activities, all appealing to the small town charm that is western New York. Check out our web page to provide you with the information necessary to motivate you to come for a visit or, even better, locate your small business or home

 

Located on the eastern border of Genesee County, The Village of LeRoy is one of the most picturesque communities in upstate New York. First settled in 1797, the community is nestled along the beautiful Oatka Creek. The tree-lined streets are lined with stately Victorian homes in a quiet setting only a half hour from Rochester and less than an hour from Buffalo. A variety of restaurants provide a wide range of family dining. LeRoy is conveniently located at the intersection of routes 5 and 19, only three miles from exit 47 of the NYS Thruway and the 490 expressway into Rochester. 

Known as the birthplace of Jell-O, LeRoy is also the home of the former Ingham University, the first chartered university for women in the United States. The history of LeRoy is preserved and exhibited at the LeRoy Historical Society, which also maintains the Jell-O Gallery, devoted to the history of Americas Most Famous Dessert.

 

Important Contact Numbers

 

Village of LeRoy - 3 West Main Street:

      Sharon Jeary      Village Clerk       585-768-2527 ext. 2216

        [Village of LeRoy Residents - Sewer, Village Tax, Curbside Garbage     pick-up - issues within Village Jurisdiction]

Town of LeRoy - 48 Main Street:

       Patricia Canfield     Town Clerk      585-768-6910 ext. 229

      Laura Brodie            Sec to Spvsr    585-768-6910 ext. 228

      Jim Farnholz             Supervisor       585-768-6910 ext. 231

      Beth Hiscutt              Court Clerk      585-768-6910 ext. 234

      Joe Macaluso           Assessor         585-768-6910 ext. 221

      Anne Podolak           Code                585-768-6910 ext. 225

      Mike Risewick          Code                 585-768-6910 ext. 223

      Jeff Steinbrenner      Code                 585-768-6910 ext. 243

      [Town & Co. Taxes, Marriage License, Vital Records,  Dog Licenses, Hunting Licenses, Assessment, Zoning & Code, Court Matters]